How To Stop Illegal Immigration — Stop The Hiring Of Illegal Aliens

by Ben Hoffman

Mexicans come to the United States for jobs and when they can’t do so legally, they sneak across our borders. All the walls, fences, and patrols aren’t going to stop that. The only way to stop illegal immigration is to eliminate the reason they come here and crack down on the hiring of illegal aliens.

That is what Obama appears to be doing with his new enforcement strategy.

BREWSTER, Wash. — The Obama administration has replaced immigration raids at factories and farms with a quieter enforcement strategy: sending federal agents to scour companies’ records for illegal immigrant workers.

While the sweeps of the past commonly led to the deportation of such workers, the “silent raids,” as employers call the audits, usually result in the workers being fired, but in many cases they are not deported.

Over the past year, Immigration and Customs Enforcement has conducted audits of employee files at more than 2,900 companies. The agency has levied a record $3 million in civil fines so far this year on businesses that hired unauthorized immigrants, according to official figures. Thousands of those workers have been fired, immigrant groups estimate.

Employers say the audits reach more companies than the work-site roundups of the administration of President George W. Bush. The audits force businesses to fire every suspected illegal immigrant on the payroll— not just those who happened to be on duty at the time of a raid — and make it much harder to hire other unauthorized workers as replacements. Auditing is “a far more effective enforcement tool,” said Mike Gempler, executive director of the Washington Growers League, which includes many worried fruit growers.

Immigration inspectors who pored over the records of one of those growers, Gebbers Farms, found evidence that more than 500 of its workers, mostly immigrants from Mexico, were in the country illegally. In December, Gebbers Farms, based in this Washington orchard town, fired the workers.

“Instead of hundreds of agents going after one company, now one agent can go after hundreds of companies,” said Mark K. Reed, president of Border Management Strategies, a consulting firm in Tucson that advises companies across the country on immigration law. “And there is no drama, no trauma, no families being torn apart, no handcuffs.”

Read more…

48 Responses to “How To Stop Illegal Immigration — Stop The Hiring Of Illegal Aliens”

  1. Mr. Hoffman,

    ” All the walls, fences, and patrols aren’t going to stop that. ”

    I guess if you repeat something enough times you can make it sound true. Walls and fences have not been tried all along the Southern border. Remember the fence was canceled? You do not have to 100% stop illegals with a fence. You merely have to stop most of them. Israel has shown that fences work.

    Prove me wrong.

    As far as Obama’s big strategy, I applaud the baby step. This by itself won’t do that much. Maybe move illegals onto welfare. Hey maybe, that’s the plan.

    Hey you want something productive to do with the Stimulus money? Build the damn fence . Only get someone other than an Obama guy to oversee it. Maybe someone from BP. 🙂

  2. Mr, Hoffman,

    ” Prove that you weren’t dropped on your head when you were a baby. ”

    I wish you would stop repeating that vicious rumor. I’ll tell you what really happened. When I was born and my Mom first showed me to my older brother, he was so jealous, he took a glass baby bottle and smacked my Mom in the head with it. I was just fine. 🙂

    So what happened to make you the way you are ?

  3. Alan,

    The last thing the United States should do is model their immigration efforts after Israel. Why? Because I’m not into my kid’s school being bombed by Palestinian mortar attacks.Bad idea.

    It seems to me that Obama is just using common sense. Illegal immigrants come here for work. Why not go after the companies that hire them? I know it’s a little more humane then ICE raids using SWAT tactics on unarmed people. But what the hell. At least it’s working.

  4. Citizen Joe,

    ” The last thing the United States should do is model their immigration efforts after Israel. Why? Because I’m not into my kid’s school being bombed by Palestinian mortar attacks.Bad idea. ”

    I do not know what Israel’s immigration policy is. I merely used their fence as an example of it working to stop large numbers of people from crossing a border. Our gracious host, along with our Magnificent President, has declared that a physical fence will not work. Neither one gives proof or examples of such fences not working. I say the fence will work. The fence will not work as long as it is not built.

    ” Because I’m not into my kid’s school being bombed by Palestinian mortar attacks.Bad idea. ”

    Excuse me, how or why would that happen ?

    ” It seems to me that Obama is just using common sense. Illegal immigrants come here for work. ”

    I always start with the premise that everything the Obama Administration does will be dishonest. I have no faith they will continue to pursue this policy with the vigor it requires, because they want illegal immigration.

    For all of Obama’s badmouthing the Bush Administration, this crack down is merely another example of Obama continuing the policies of Bush. From Aug. of 07 on, there was an employer crack down.

    ” But what the hell. At least it’s working. ”

    Where’s your proof? Are the unemployed illegals going back home. Are fewer illegals coming here since this policy was enacted ? Show me the Statistics.

    I know one policy El Presidente has enacted that has reduced illegal immigration, probably more than any other President. President Obama’s policy of low economic growth and high unemployment has most likely slowed down immigrants.

    Since Obama’s economic policies are not likely to produce jobs very soon, I imagine this really is the one area he has bested George Bush.

    • [Neither one gives proof or examples of such fences not working. I say the fence will work.]

      A two thousand mile fence would cost billions of dollars to construct, and the Mexicans could just tunnel under them.

  5. Personally I think he is focusing on this aspect of immigration because it is one that is affecting minorities the most–loss of employment. Let’s call a spade a spade: most of the jobs illegal immigrants are taking would otherwise be filled by minorities. That’s why this administration is focusing their efforts here.

    Proof? Illinois and ICE: Story #1 and Story #2

  6. No deportations or arrests so they just go somewhere else and it’s a game of shuffling the deck chairs.

    It doesn’t really solve the problem.

    But it looks like they are trying.

    And the lack of press on it is curious. Is it because they don’t really do anything in the end?

    And they know it.

    Maybe they should call Secretary of Labor Hilda Solis and complain. 🙂

    In a public service announcement posted on the department’s website, Solis says workers — legal or not — have the right to fair wages.

    “You work hard, and you have the right to be paid fairly,” she says. “And it is a serious problem when workers in this country are not being paid every cent they earn. Remember, every worker in America has the right to be paid fairly, whether documented or not. So call us.”

    What the government gives with one hand it takes with the other. It’s only fair.

  7. Mr, Hoffman,

    ” A two thousand mile fence would cost billions of dollars to construct, and the Mexicans could just tunnel under them. ”

    And you call me a pathological liar. 🙂

    First off, you would not have to fence off the whole 2 thousand miles. It would only cost billions if Democrats built it. Israel has proven you do not have to go high cost, high tech to build a good fence.

    Let them tunnel under. I said it before. You do not have to stop every illegal, just most of them. Tunnels might let hundreds through in a year. Right now thousands come in.

    Now, rationalize again on behalf of the Clown you puy in office.

    • [And you call me a pathological liar.]

      How is what I wrote a lie?

      You argue with emotion like a woman on PMS. Why not just make your argument with logic and leave your emotions out of it?

      • Are we stereo-typing women and their PMS symptoms here? Wow! Ben, didn’t think you’d stoop this low.

      • F*ck you and your fake righteous indignation. Women with PMS are annoying as hell.

      • LOL! We women with our PMS. It does make us a bit insufferable, doesn’t it? I can’t even stand myself when I have PMS!

        Alan, don’t model your arguments after a hormonal women. We never make sense when it’s that time of the month. And then we get angry. And there ends all discussion. LOL! 🙂

      • Don’t know if there was anything annoyingly fake in the PMS comment…that was funny. Seemed to piss off Ben. Did someone just call Ben’s bluff? Is he faking his liberalism?

      • [Is he faking his liberalism?]

        I never claimed to be a liberal. Progressive, yes, liberal… not so much.

      • [Alan, don’t model your arguments after a hormonal women. We never make sense when it’s that time of the month. And then we get angry. And there ends all discussion.]

        Just like Alan, but he doesn’t have an excuse. 🙂

      • [I never claimed to be a liberal. Progressive, yes, liberal… not so much.]

        I’m pretty sure there isn’t much difference between the two. Progressivism has its roots in Liberalism, which has its roots in Communism which was founded on the Marxist school of thought.

      • [Progressivism has its roots in Liberalism, which has its roots in Communism which was founded on the Marxist school of thought.]

        Not hardly, considering our founding fathers were progressives and Karl Marx had not been born yet.

    • How were the founding fathers progressives? Many people, especially “progressives”, label the founding fathers as racist. So are you saying progressives are racist as well? I’m confused.

  8. Mr. Hoffman,

    I agree with NebulaOne . I cannot believe what I am reading. That a good Liberal like yourself would insult all women. Just shocking.

    Next you’ll say, I throw like a girl. I wouldn’t doubt that some of the girls I grew up with in Philly would kick your butt no matter what the time of the month .:)

    Anyway, this is just more of you projecting your own faults on me. Same $h1t, different day .

  9. echo,

    You know what? When I wrote my last response to Mr. Hoffman, I had a couple of sentences about the double standards of Liberals, particularly liberal women. How they always give liberal men a pass, when they would crucify the rest of us.

    As I thought that was cruel and over the top I edited those statements out of my response before I posted it. You have just confirmed that my edited out thoughts were much truer than I knew.

    • Hee hee! Sorry, but liberal men know how to treat women much better than conservative men do. I have no problem with my boyfriend telling me I’m being a b**ch if that’s what I’m being. But I DO have a problem with men telling me what I can and can’t do with my body. Women don’t need to be treated with kid gloves…that in itself is disrespectful.

  10. [No, I only lust in my heart]

    You’re in the human club like I am.

  11. [I.E. Al Gore, Bill Clinton, and John Edwards…]

    ” Liberal men cheat on their wives with other women. Conservative men cheat on their wives with young boys.

    So what’s worse? 🙂 ”

    What about Liberal men like Roman Polanski ? They only rape little girls and then Hollywood Liberals defend them. Conservatives do not defend perverts .

    Must be a lot o Liberals amongst the Swiss.

    • [Conservatives do not defend perverts . ]

      What about all the rapes of children at the Waco compound? There were a lot of perverts there.

      • [What about all the rapes of children at the Waco compound?]

        Last time I checked, those at the Waco compound weren’t leaders of the progressive movement. Might have been conservative, but actual leaders of a nation? Don’t think so. But both are worst–rapes in Waco and cigar-rapes in the Oral office, I mean Oval Office.

      • [Last time I checked, those at the Waco compound weren’t leaders of the progressive movement. ]

        No, they were right-wing extremists.

      • You’re right, Ben, “Right Wing Extremist.” In no way represent conservatives on the whole. Now…Clinton, Gore, and Edwards…well….they represent ‘mainstream’ progressivism.

      • [In no way represent conservatives on the whole.]

        No, they represent a large percentage of the conservative movement and the Republican party.

      • [No, they represent a large percentage of the conservative movement and the Republican party]

        Stats on that to prove your insane assertion?

      • [Stats on that to prove your insane assertion?]

        Just look at the teabaggers, gun nuts, abortion protesters, and other anti-government groups around the country. Conservatives are radical extremists.

      • Teabaggers, gun nuts, etc.? That’s your “stats” answer? Ha! Haven’t got any stats, do you. No evidence whatsoever. Figures.

      • [Haven’t got any stats, do you. No evidence whatsoever. Figures.]

        No, no stats, but plenty of evidence. All one needs to do is look at some of the right-wing blogs out there.

    • okay, maybe it’s just that ALL men treat women like crap. Their politics have nothing to do with it.

      • [okay, maybe it’s just that ALL men treat women like crap. Their politics have nothing to do with it.]

        Nonsense. Well, maybe when I was younger… I guess we get a little nicer as we age.

  12. I myself am female and against abortion. Number one I was adopted as a newborn. Number two its killing. But I also agree for a woman’s right to choose. Every person has a God given right to choose there own sin and I am hardly an angel to be there judge. I am half mexican and half Dutch adopted to a dad that is one quarter german and mom that is heinze 57 whose ancestors came over on the mayflower. I have a sister born to her just six months younger than myself and two older brothers. By far none of them are perfect including the parents that gave me away but I love each one in there own special way.

  13. Mr. Hoffman,

    ” What about all the rapes of children at the Waco compound? There were a lot of perverts there. ”

    What about it ?

  14. l0oree,

    ” But I also agree for a woman’s right to choose. ”

    50% of the unborn would have been women and they got no choice. I wonder if they are aware they are being destroyed. Probably not.

  15. If I would of been one of the unborn, I wouldn’t have to choose anything because I wouldn’t be here. I do believe the greatest gift is to give your life for mankind like Jesus did and the second greatest gift is to give your most treasured gift your child to the enemy so they live and not die. Moses’s mom did that.

  16. l0oree,

    I thought Moses’ Mom let him float down the river in a basket. She could not have know before hand who would find him, though it was better than certain death.

  17. If you take away the illegals there are so many, who would buy the goods? Example trees America has alot of trees. America has alot of papermills. America has a lot of illegal imigrants that shit in the USA. Who will buy all that toliet paper? Would cost of water go up cuz less customers to flush the toliet? Seems to me we need to educate and create an atmosphere of opportunity to the illegals we have and help them nicely to become legal. While preventing any future illegals from coming.

Trackbacks

Leave a comment