The Problem With Believing In God and Jesus

by Ben Hoffman

People who have the ability to believe in the supernatural have defective brains. They believe in things that defy logic. That’s why you have all these right-wingers who believe the $800 billion Stimulus caused the federal debt to increase by $5 trillion. They can’t process information like rational people. They’re exposed to little soundbites of information and whatever fits the Republican narrative, that’s what they believe.

95 Comments to “The Problem With Believing In God and Jesus”

  1. So, are you saying that people who disagree with you must be mentally unstable?

    • Nope, but you just proved my point. 🙂

      • So, by questioning you, I am showing mental instability? Very interesting.

      • David, you’re hallucinating. You’ve lost touch with reality. I didn’t say anything about questioning me. But you did prove my point. Republicans have defective brains. Scientists have found that the brains of conservatives are different from more evolved humans. They lack the ability to handle ambiguity, which is why they see everything in black-and-white. They also seem to have a problem with cause and effect.

        But worst of all, conservatives (most, anyway) have religion to excuse their evil behavior. Like the saying goes: Without religion, you’d still have good people doing good things and bad people doing evil things, but for good people to do evil: that takes religion.

      • That, or it takes lawyers.

      • So, you’re “more evolved” than those who vote conservative? You do realize with whom you share company in believing that those who agree with you are more evolved?

  2. If that’s the case, and there is no God then on what basis can we have anything resembling morality? In other words, if moral principles come only from human beings, why should anyone follow any rules at all?

    You say one thing, well that’s not right for me, so I have no reason to listen. Vice versa, you have no obligation to obey me.

    With no God to say what’s right or wrong, your example of the sherriff the other day being a pervert because he wanted sex with someone 50 years younger has no grounds. You think he’s a perv (so do I) but to him, his morality says it’s OK, so you can’t judge him a pervert. You have no moral ground to stand upon.

    • If belief in some supernatural being is the basis for your morality, then you’re probably a psychopath.

      • But I’m at least a psycho who is commanded by my Lord to love my enemies and not to harm others. It makes Him happy when I do, and wyeh He’s happy, so am I.

        No other psycho can say that.

        Just curious, what keeps you from harming others? What makes you happy?

      • But I’m at least a psycho who is commanded by my Lord to love my enemies and not to harm others. It makes Him happy when I do, and wyeh He’s happy, so am I.

        That could be schizophrenia, which is caused by excessive levels of dopamine in the brain. There are drugs that can get that under control. See a doctor as soon as possible.

    • You know what I mean.

      I didn’t mean audibly…it’s written in the Bible.

      • Yep, it’s written in a book written 2,000 years ago. Science has come a long ways since then. Maybe you should consider living in the 21st century. Or at least the 20th century. 🙂

      • I’m more of a late 19th century sort, I hope u can understand.

        Actually science is finally catching up to the Bible. Maimonides (sp?) A medieval Jewish scholar theorized that there were 10 physical/spatial dimensions. He based this solely on the first few chapters of the book of Genesis.

        Quantum theory now supports a multi-dimensional approach. The more the field of quantum physics advances, the more it supports a Biblical viewpoint.

        I’m not sure what century that puts me in, but you have a blessed weekend Ben, and thanks for making me think.

    • If that’s the case, and there is no God then on what basis can we have anything resembling morality?

      Our empathy, experience and knowledge of the world is the basis for morality. No magic, no gods, and no mythology required.

  3. In all seriousness, would you say, as a christian, that I am, thus, a republican, psychotic, schizophrenic, etc?

    No, don’t worry I am not going down that route!
    Look, thise discussion could be great. But so far all I see from both sies is platitudes and stereotypical arguements.
    Of course Atheists can be moral. Morality is not what is in question when it comes to faith in Jesus Christ, faith is, salvation is, but in regards to morality we are all fallen.

    But look, Ben, your making serious accusations, which, as we Christians know, can have a very bad effect on the mentally unstable. So if your going to do make such accusations, please use your intellect and cite this statement; “Scientists have found that the brains of conservatives are different from more evolved humans”.
    I am expecting to hear you start repeating “I know you are, but what am I.” real soon!!!

    • So if your going to do make such accusations, please use your intellect and cite this statement; “Scientists have found that the brains of conservatives are different from more evolved humans”.

      Conservatives have smaller anterior cingulate cortexes — the part of the brain responsible for rational cognitive functions. You can find a summary of the findings at the following URL:
      http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2011/04/110407121337.htm

      The study also explain your need to make this comment: “I am expecting to hear you start repeating “I know you are, but what am I.” real soon!!!” Conservatives have larger amygdalas, which are responsible for emotion and explains why conservatives are so emotional.

      • It might be a good idea to go read the actual article in Current Biology instead of what someone wrote about their impression of it: http://www.cell.com/current-biology/abstract/S0960-9822%2811%2900289-2

        A very interesting study – it neither claims that either causes political orientation (it is merely a correlation so far) nor that liberal minds are “more evolved”.

      • True, and it also claims that brain structures can change over time, so there is hope for you, David. 🙂

      • Ben, like many, I was liberal when I was young. So, if your “hope” is that I will become liberal, you’re going to be disappointed.

        Glad you figured out how to open the article and retracted your insult. Perhaps there is hope for you.

      • Ben, like many, I was liberal when I was young.

        So you’ve always been a radical. Most people become less idealistic as they get older, but some people never learn.

      • Ben, I’m not a radical now, nor was I a radical then.

      • If you’re a Republican, you’re a radical. And if you believe in some supernatural being called god, and some mythological places called heaven and hell, you’re a radical.

      • So, would I be correct in thinking that you do not think of yourself as a radical? You do toss the term around in a name-calling manner, almost like the “I know you are, but what am I?” comment you keep expecting.

      • So tell me in what way am I a radical. Don’t make stuff up now. 🙂

      • Oh, I have no idea whether you are a radical. I don’t know you and I have read little of what you’ve written. I am merely surprised that you would say that both liberals and conservatives are radicals. To you, is it a dirty word?

      • I am merely surprised that you would say that both liberals and conservatives are radicals. To you, is it a dirty word?

        There are times when radical actions are necessary, but I don’t think we’re to that point here in the U.S. What I see as radical is doing things that don’t work or lying about them to make it sound like they do work. I see liberals as trying to promote more welfare and affirmative action polices that do more to destroy society than to make it better. Conservatives promote tax cuts and deregulation that have shown time after time to do more harm than good. So those are examples of radical policies.

      • “What I see as radical is doing things that don’t work or lying about them to make it sound like they do work.” I wouldn’t call that radical. I’d call that stupid. I’ve never supported continuing to do things that don’t work or lying to make it sound like they do.

        Could you tell me what dictionary you’re using because none of the ones I’ve used define “radical” in that way, which makes it sound simply like name-calling.

      • So lying isn’t radical? It is to me.

      • Ben, I suggest you check a dictionary for a definition of the term.

      • 9. a person who holds or follows strong convictions or extreme principles; extremist.
        10.a person who advocates fundamental political, economic, and social reforms by direct and often uncompromising methods.

        Which definition don’t you agree with? When you lie to defend your policies, you’re an extremist, which makes you a radical.

      • Ben, someone who lies about their policies is not necessarily an extremist (extremist, noun 1. a person who goes to extremes, especially in political matters.) nor are either liberals or conservatives necessarily interested in fundamental reforms. Additionally, neither definition applies to my politics in the last 30 years. Again, you seem to be merely using the word “radical” and the word “extremist” as insults, which jettisons their true meaning.

        I also find interesting that tobeforgiven was correct in thinking you’d toss out a “I know you are, but what am I?” as you did when you wrote on December 12, 2011 at 2:48 PM, “So tell me in what way am I a radical. Don’t make stuff up now.”

      • Excellent name-calling, Ben! I always appreciate when someone stoops to ad hominem attacks. It makes me laugh!

      • It makes me laugh!

        That’s because you’re an idiot. 🙂

      • I’ll let others evaluate your use of the terms “radical” and “extreme” rather than call you names. I’ll just say that I am unimpressed with your grasp of the English language.

      • I’ll just say that I am unimpressed with your grasp of the English language.

        I am unimpressed with your grasp of reality. 🙂

    • Brother, I’m not arguing faith in Jesus Christ is the key. I’m merely saying that God is the source of true morality, and if we base morality upon merely human ideas, ultimately it has no authority behind it.

      We are all fallen indeed, which is why none of us are qualified to originate a moral structure, only God can.

      Thanks also for reminding me of the pre-scandal pee wee. I used to love his work.

      Ben, I would agree that republicans probably are less brain developed. You see many so-called “Christians” standing firmly behind Gingrich, merely because he calims to be one. Yet, he has had 3 wives under dubious circumstances, and is heavily into new age “mojo”.

      They also stand behind perry, who forced all the girls in his state to take a dangerous vaccine to prevent STDs. They also stand behind romney, a Mormon, which is a faith completely at odds with the Bible.

      Democrats get where where they, probably because they realize how easily repubs favor war and the rich. They put a little more thought into it.

      Both parties have attributes Christians can be comfortable with, and both have things Christians should be wholly against. Both parties have supporters who follow them almost blindly, except the left puts slightly more thought into it.

  4. What about Christians or Jews who vote Democrat? Do they also have the defects you mention?

  5. Mr. Hoffman,

    You say ” People who have the ability to believe in the supernatural have defective brains. ”

    You say ” If belief in some supernatural being is the basis for your morality, then you’re probably a psychopath.”

    In a February 2011 speech President Obama said, ” My Christian faith has been sustaining for me over the last couple of years and even more so when Michelle and I hear our faith questioned from time to time, ”

    ” When I wake in the morning, I wait on the Lord, I ask him to give me the strength to do right by our country and our people “.

    ” And when I go to bed at night, I wait on the Lord and I ask him to forgive me my sins and to look after my family and to make me an instrument of the Lord. ”

    So do you believe that President Obama has a defective brain or is a psychopath ?

    • So do you believe that President Obama has a defective brain or is a psychopath ?

      That’s probably more a case of him saying what he thinks people want to hear.

      • I’d agree with that. I’d post a link, but it never gets through moderation with links. WND (for what that’s worth, had an article debating obama’s “Christian faith.

      • So, you’re saying he lies when if it serves his purposes? Interesting. What else would you say he lies about?

      • Personally, I’d say all politicians lie when their lips are moving.

        But I get where you are going with this 🙂

        Does it rhyme with citizenship?

      • Frank, I don’t care where he was born or whether he it’s a citizen. I only care how well he governs. He doesn’t seem to be doing well at that.

      • True. But the same could be said for most presidents. Bush helped create the mess Obama’s in. Obama has expanded the war on terror and gotten away stuff bush only dreamed of.

        Bush did inherit a reasonably OK geopolitical issue from clinton, but unfortunately all of them are subject to a larger agenda. Just check out Future Quake Radio some time. They have an archive of shows that would shock Christians (it did me) and sound somewhat reasonable to non-Christians.

        It’s all a managed agenda, leading to a managed goal.

      • Obama has expanded the war on terror and gotten away stuff bush only dreamed of.

        Like what? Bush lied us into war that cost 100s of thousands of lives and trillions of dollars. It doesn’t get much worse than that.

      • How about assaniating american citizens without a trial?

        Like al alwaki.

        Libya, “days, not weeks.” Which also ended in the death of qaddafi, without a trial.

        I believe he’s also expanded “drone” strikes into something like 5 other countries. We even have a spy drone that crashed in Iran.

        The naked body scanners slid into airports.

        All on Obama’s watch.

        If bush had done this, you’d be having a hissy fit, and rightly so. Not that I’m with bush, he had a lot of bad stuff too. I’m also not anti-obama necessisarily, just pointing out that whether you admit it or not, Obama is basically the third term of Bush.

      • Here’s what I mean, if you’d be so kind as to permit me a link.

        http://stpeteforpeace.org/obama.html

      • Yep, Obama’s a moderate conservative, as I’ve posted on my blog. At a time when we needed another FDR, what we got was a lot more of the same.

      • Like al alwaki.

        Frank, you’ve been watching too much Fox “news.” Al-Awlaki’s own father didn’t have a problem with his son being killed by the U.S. Maybe you should recheck your loyalties. Right-wingers are more loyal to your party than to your country.

      • Who cares what his father thought, or how horrible he was. The point is, that he was a US CITIZEN and was killed without the due process afforded by our constitution.

        It sets a precedent, that you or I, or any other american is not guaranteed a trial.

        And did you not just the other day tell me that at a “liberal pervert” I brought up was “innocent until proven guilty.”? So does that only apply to liberals now? 🙂 so by inference, you support constitutional rights for one group of people, but not others. 🙂

        How about the other points?

      • For the record, I don’t have a TV, and have multiple news sources.

      • If you had only one source for your news, what would it be?

      • That is a really tough one. They’re all biased to one extent or another…that’s why I visit blogs like yours, to get other perspectives…

        I mainly read all the big ones, purely for headlines to have a basic understanding. (Real drudge, Fox, Msnbc, cnn, bbc, al jazeera)

        But I digest…

        If I Had to choose one source for news, it would be Future Quake Radio.

        they recently changed their format from interviews to reading tons of news articles from various sources. They have less bias than most, and don’t hesitate to pick on the left, right big business and “Evangelical Christians.” They also post the links to the articles they read.

        How about you?

  6. Mr. Hoffman,

    Good answer. A lot of Christians voted for the President in 2008. Maybe those are only saying they are Christians, too. Or maybe, most Americans are Atheist-Agnostics. Which begs the question, why are you Atheists having so much trouble with us minority Christians ?

  7. Ben, you mention “war that cost 100s of thousands of lives”. Could you point us to something that confirms hundreds of thousands?

  8. “A man can no more diminish God’s glory by refusing to worship Him than a lunatic can put out the sun by scribbling the word, ‘darkness’ on the walls of his cell.” ~ C.S. Lewis

  9. They believe in things that defy logic. That’s why you have all these right-wingers who believe the $800 billion Stimulus caused the federal debt to increase by $5 trillion.

    Au contraire. Militant, atheistic liberals are invariably not only bad at observation, but woeful with math.

    We believe the failed stimulus (actually $862 billion), also known as Friends of Obama (FOO), added 16+% of the $5 trillion wasted by Obama. The rest wasted was equally as useless under the auspices of other equally rhetorical titles of unknown purpose.

    But if Obama policies can continue to shrink the job market, say another 50%, he may indeed get to his full employment number without ever creating a job. Good work if you can get it.

    Merry Christmas Ben.

    • You’re a little shy of reality, Tex. I actually rounded up, since only $733 billion of the stimulus has been allocated so far. So what parts of do you think have “failed?”

      Was it the $300 billion in tax cuts put in there to appease a few Republicans? I’d agree with you on that. Tax cuts are an ineffective way to stimulate the economy.

      How about the $215 billion in unemployment benefits? We’d have a lot of people out on the streets today if there wasn’t a safety net. Employers pay into that fund and it’s non-discretionary spending.

      That leaves us with $217 billion in contracts, loans, and grants, which has put millions of people to work building roads, bridges, schools, has upgraded our power grid, provided money for green energy development, saved the jobs of teachers around the country…

      Funny how you religious nuts are such liars. I guess when you believe Jesus died for your sins, you can do whatever the hell you want and you’re automatically forgiven. What a deal! 🙂

  10. What parts have failed? Oh, how about all of it? Why do we need to now allocate another stimulus to infrastructure? Where’s those shovel ready projects you talked about? Aren’t you going to give me the whitewash about how it saved us from a Depression? Or how about unemployment benefits are the most effective way to “stimulate” the economy? Well, where is the stimulate? Got more than one out of seven on food stamps? Where’s the stimulate? Maybe it was cash for clunkers? Or the Chevy Volt recall? Screwing the Chrysler bondholders?

    Here’s the reality. About a 16.5% real unemployment rate, 75% of the country believing we are on the wrong path (you just have to be a part of the 25% clueless), a failed Presidency that gave Republicans historical wins in 2010, and about a million lies from the reincarnation of Jimmy Carter without the grin.

    Remember when Obama was going to can the lobbyists and close GITMO? Unite us and not divide us? Be the most transparent administration in history, “televising” all the meetings? Cut the deficit in half? Where’s all that Mr. Hoffman? 😈

    Face it Ben. Times are bleak for the militant neopagans like you , worshiping at the Cult of Obama. I can’t even call you a liar, because you’re so deluded, the blame must be cast elsewhere. Maybe your daddy Lucifer.

    But I do find you great humor. The perfect progressive shill for abject failure.

    • I don’t know about where you live, but we’ve seen a lot of infrastructure improvements here in Colorado funded by the Stimulus. If you don’t have those kinds of projects in your state, maybe you should get a better governor.

      And it seems to me you’re blaming Obama for all the problems our country is experiencing. Let me remind you who caused all those problems. It was Bush and the Republicans in Congress. It would be insane to vote for the same crowd who nearly destroyed our country. But then again, the Republican party is like a religion to you defective brain right-wingers. Or maybe a cult. Either way, it’s a dangerous organization.

    • This is priceless. I’m just reveling in the projection going on here.. 🙂

      I can’t even call you a liar, because you’re so deluded. […]

      And then in the very next sentence:

      Maybe your daddy [is] Lucifer.

      So, you are calling Ben deluded and then suggesting that Lucifer,an angel, was his father?

      Clearly Ben, the problem is with you. 🙂

  11. You know Ben. I admire it when you Baal worshipers call Jesus a liar. I mean, you’re ice cold – just the way you should be. The fact the very word Jesus sends you into apoplexy tells me you’re not straddling the fence like so many. Congratulations.

    Jane Goodall should use your blog on a video, brother.

  12. Mr. Hoffman,

    If we apply Obamanist economic theory to the Iraq war, George Bush saved or created hundreds of millions of lives. Millions more would have died if President Bush did not act preemptively. And as those millions have reproduced, you get hundreds of millions. We can also project trillions of dollars saved. If only Bush had been around in 1936. He would have taken out Hitler early and saved even more lives .

    • Alan, if you can’t handle drugs, don’t do them. 🙂

    • If we apply Obamanist economic theory to the Iraq war, George Bush saved or created hundreds of millions of lives. Millions more would have died if President Bush did not act preemptively.

      Does this sentence even have a subject?

      And as those millions have reproduced, you get hundreds of millions. We can also project trillions of dollars saved.

      Mr.Scott, this level of incomprehensibility is astounding. I mean, I’ve seen you say some pretty amazingly stupid things, but this…this approaches the word salad that comes from people suffering from schizophasia.

      • No, Arbourist (nice gravatar), it’s not schizophasia. What’s he’s doing is replacing “jobs” in the Obama administrations explanation of unemployment with “lives” and switching it to the Iraq War for Bush. It’s a form of ‘reducto ab absurdum’ argument. He is attempting to reduce the unemployment argument by the Obama administration to absurdity by replacing words, since the idea of Bush having saved or created hundreds of millions of lives during the Iraq War is absurd. It’s not a word salad, it is simply a tactic in arguing.

        “Does this sentence even have a subject?” Actually, each of the sentences you quote has a subject. The first sentence has two clauses, with the first clause using “we” as the subject for the verb “apply”, and the second clause using “George Bush” as the subject for “saved or created”. In the second sentence, “Millions” is the subject for “would have died”. If you’d like help diagramming sentences, I can be of assistance.

      • It’s not a word salad, it is simply a tactic in arguing.

        There should be a semicolon after “salad” — not a comma. 🙂

      • Correct, Ben. My apologies for that failure. Semicolon usage is something that I still need to work on.

  13. Gentlemen,

    Good to hear from you. Now you obviously found my statement absurd, but is the underlying theory absurd or the way I applied it? The underlying theory is the way Obama excused his economic failures. I merely took that line of reasoning and used it in my own way .

    • The underlying theory is the way Obama excused his economic failures. I merely took that line of reasoning and used it in my own way .

      It would be nice to see the original quote from the President, as at first blush the RAA seems to be a bit of a stretch as postulated.

  14. The Arbourist,

    As I recall the words saved or created was echoed so many times by President Obama’s supporters, I do not think it matters what his original quote was. And they all had straight faces, while saying it. I once saved a man from being murdered, I changed my mind. 🙂

    • Bush’s policies created jobs and lowered unemployment.

      First of all, sending thousands of Americans off to fight decreased the size of the workforce here. It reduced the number of people competing for jobs. Also, because there are fewer workers available, there is greater demand for their services, which drives up wages.

      The business of war creates millions of good paying jobs. Engineers are employed to design tanks, planes, armored vehicles, guns, bombs, as well as software, satellites, rockets, missiles, and thousands of other products used for killing and inflicting pain and suffering on women and children, as well as a few dozen terrorist. Jobs are also created at funeral homes, cemeteries, crematoriums, casket factories, as well as backhoe and shovel manufactures that provide tools to dig the graves for the dead soldiers.

      Finally, by lying us into an unnecessary and unwinnable war, George W. Bush created demand for pundits on both sides of the political spectrum. Supporters of the right-wing narrative have gained popularity and are now some of the highest paid celebrities on cable news. While not quite as lucrative, demand for liberal punditry has also increased over the past few years. Many books have been written that either support or attack the lies of the Bush administration, which has created jobs in the book publishing and sales industries.

      The facts show that Bush’s policies have worked. It was not until Barack Obama withdrew our troops from Iraq that the economy began to fail. We need a new war to get our economy rolling again. Perhaps one with Iran will pull us out of this Democrat party created recession.

      NOTE: This post is a parody.

  15. Mr. Hoffman,

    ” Finally, by lying us into an unnecessary and unwinnable war, ”

    So we lost the Iraq war ? We obviously did not win. By definition, you cannot win the unwinnable.

    ” This post is a parody. ”

    I wonder if the average visitor to your blog is smart enough to have figured that out .

    ” It was not until Barack Obama withdrew our troops from Iraq that the economy began to fail. ”

    Now that was a little harsh, the Great Obama was causing the economy to fail long before he removed troops.

  16. Mr. Hoffman,

    You are the one who started with the unwinable premise. But, , , unlike yourself I do not shrink from tough moral questions. The answer , , , , drum roll please: We won credibility. In a dangerous world, that is invaluable. By credibility, I mean that we will respond militarily and will stay militarily in a long situation .

    You Progressive-Liberals never could understand the theory of deterrent . Of course, now that we have a President like whats his face, I don’t know what it’s worth .

    • Tough moral questions? Alan, you’re a pathological liar. You have the morals of a rat.

      As far as the U.S. winning credibility, we became the laughing stock of the world. While it’s true that many countries were afraid of us, but they were afraid of us the same way people were afraid of David Berkowitz. We had this stupid religious nut in the White House who was willing to bomb countries for political gain. Don’t forget that this was after the Bush administration allowed us to be attacked on 9/11.

      You right-wingers are far too emotional. You support our country spending trillions of dollars and sacrificing thousands of lives so you can feel like daddy is making you safe. Face it… you’re like a scared little girl.

  17. Mr. Hoffman ,

    ” Alan, you’re a pathological liar. You have the morals of a rat. ”

    To a Buddhist like you, isn’t saying I have the morals of a rat, paying me a great compliment ?

    http://video.nationalgeographic.com/video/player/places/culture-places/buildings-landmarks/india-rattemple-pp.html

    ” While it’s true that many countries were afraid of us, but they were afraid of us the same way people were afraid of David Berkowitz. ”

    We need countries like Iran to be that afraid of us. They have not been that afraid for 3 years. Obama didn’t even have the courage to openly support the demonstrators of the Green Revolution in 2009, when it could have done some good. Reagan was never afraid of supporting freedom movements behind the Iron Curtain.

    ” We had this stupid religious nut in the White House who was willing to bomb countries for political gain. ”

    Splain just how George W. Bush received any political gain from the Iraq War .

    ” Don’t forget that this was after the Bush administration allowed us to be attacked on 9/11. ”

    Far less truthful than saying FDR should have stopped Pearl Harbor.

    ” Face it… you’re like a scared little girl. ”

    So now you are insulting women. Many girls and women are braver than you and me. The three women about to receive the Nobel Peace Prize come to mind. Thank God they are not giving it to do nothing men like Al Gore and Barak Obama.

    • Splain just how George W. Bush received any political gain from the Iraq War .

      You don’t think they benefited politically by keeping the masses scared and angry?

      The three women about to receive the Nobel Peace Prize come to mind.

      Good point. Those women are working to make the world a better place. Do you think the Iraq war made the world a better place. How about the policies and politicians you support… Do you think they’re making the world a better place?

  18. Mr. Hoffman,

    ” You don’t think they benefited politically by keeping the masses scared and angry? ”

    There is always a large anti war movement in this country. Democrats tapped into that to win in 2008. Bush could have played it safe like Clinton did for 8 years and just not dealt with all of the AHs in the Middle East. What did Clinton ever do about the 1993 WTC bombing ? What did he ever do about Saddam Hussein constantly violating the sanctions from the first Gulf War?

    When you let things go like Clinton did , people in the middle east believe you are a paper tiger.

    ” Do you think the Iraq war made the world a better place. ”

    Of course, we would not have Barak Obama as our first African American President if people were not angry at Republicans for the war. They now will have had 4 years to get that out of their systems. It has been a great lesson to many people.

    ” How about the policies and politicians you support… Do you think they’re making the world a better place? ”

    Yes, but what if I turn that back on you ? What if John McCain were President and did exactly what President Obama did? He would have the same record with the economy and you would be calling for his impeachment ?

    • Of course, we would not have Barak Obama as our first African American President if people were not angry at Republicans for the war.

      And that made the world better how? I asked you if the war made the world a better place.

      What if John McCain were President and did exactly what President Obama did?

      What specifically? Pass a stimulus bill? Pass health care reform? I don’t think that would have happened with McCain/Palin. They would have simply cut more taxes, allowed more pollution, and fired government workers, which would have put us deep into a depression. We also might be at war with Iran had those two doofuses been elected.

      So you’re not going to answer whether or not the policies you support make the world a better place?

  19. Mr. Hoffman,

    ” And that made the world better how? I asked you if the war made the world a better place. ”

    You know that I bash the Socialist Europeans every chance I get, but they have one thing over Americans, they study and know history. You are typically American, in that you do not know or care about history. What happened in the world before you became aware is not your concern. I have a European type appreciation for history. And like they say, it just keeps repeating itself. We were attacked on 911 for the same reasons we were attacked at Pearl Harbor. We were perceived as weak politically and militarily . In both cases the attacking parties did not fear American retaliation. I will add in Saddam Hussein’s shooting at American planes in the no fly zone.

    Truman’s 2 Atom bombs, Obama’s bullet to the head of Bin Laden , and Bush’s defeat of Saddam are what keep you safe in Colorado and me safe in Pennsylvania.

    And I am not asking you what you think McCain would have done. I asked you what you would say if he did exactly what Obama did and had the exact same jobless numbers.

  20. Mr. Hoffman.

    Unlike you, I raised two kids. Spent quite a bit of money on ‘ their ‘ college. You also probably have family money. My family tree has nothing but beggars and alcoholics clinging to it. So it’s easy for you to say, go to college and make something of yourself. I’m broke.

    Then there is the Marxist brain washing that goes on at those dens of evil. I am still trying to deprogram my kids and their friends. 🙂

    • No, I have no “family money.” My mother was a typist and my father was a mechanic. I grew up lower middle class. But I wanted more out of life.

      There wasn’t much love in my house growing up. I hope you provide that for your children. I think you do.

  21. So you are higher on the food chain than your parents ? I am about where my parents were. One of my kids is much higher than me now. The other is a work in progress. It’s tough right now for kids getting out of college unless they were smart enough to choose the right profession. I still blame the colleges for not telling kids that certain fields are overcrowded . I know other kids where the big companies are beating down their doors competing to hire them .

  22. Mr. Hoffman,

    ” What happened to personal responsibility? ”

    I know I was young and stupid, I suppose you were. What 18 year old kid knows what fields are losers . Colleges are factories turning out trained young people. It’s their business to know whether their graduates are being hired .

    They are the professionals. They should act like it. If I was a professor I would certainly question myself as to whether the kids I was teaching were getting their money’s worth. You tell me how many professors care about how those kids are doing 2 or 3 years after they graduate? And if you have a bad professor, it’s likely he’s not going to get fired .

Leave a Reply

