Earth Hour: This Evening At 8:30

by Ben Hoffman

Earth Hour 2010 takes place on Saturday 27 March at 8.30pm (local time) and is a global call to action to every individual, every business and every community throughout the world. It is a call to stand up, to take responsibility, to get involved and lead the way towards a sustainable future. Iconic buildings and landmarks from Europe to Asia to the Americas will stand in darkness. People across the world from all walks of life will turn off their lights and join together in celebration and contemplation of the one thing we all have in common – our planet.

About Earth Hour

We’ll be watching a video in the dark during earth hour. Does that count?

8 Comments to “Earth Hour: This Evening At 8:30”

  1. So long as “Earth Hour”‘s main focus is man-made global warming, I’ll be more likely to fire up my diesel generators and replace all my 40W with 100W’s in a light pattern that says, “Suck It, Gore!!!”

    We get asked to re-use towels in hotels to “save the environment”, yet oddly as I’m saving the hotel soap, labor, power, and plant expenses I never once see a rebate on my bill. We get asked to turn all our lights off in our office buildings, switch to more energy-efficient bulbs, and save all this power, yet oddly my rents never go down.

    That makes me mad, and I’m going to protest. So yes, people, when the world is dark tonight, I’m going to be LIGHTING IT UP! Please all let me know how much your thermometers went up tomorrow as a result of my extremely ignorant earth-killing behavior (although please move them away from asphalt, burning barrels, air conditioners, etc. however, to get an accurate reading). 🙂

    Happy Earth Hour everybody!!!

    “I’m against picketing, I just don’t know how to show it.” – Steven Wright

  2. Mr. Hoffman,

    ” Methane is a large contributer to climate change, so you might also want to have some beans for dinner. 🙂 ”

    As an educated citizen, you don’t still believe in this fallacy, do you ? Then again after a worse than normal winter, we had one of our warmest March’s ever . So maybe there is something to this global warming . Except that March isn’t over, and I nearly froze yesterday when I was working in my bucket truck .

    Oh,,, it’s a joke about beans and methane, now I get it . Did you know that in the tropical regions, one of the biggest emitters of methane is the mighty termite ? The bacteria in their gut that breaks down cellulose and produces methane . So I think during Earth Hour I will send a can of Raid to the Amazon . That will do more for the environment than all of this feel good turning off of the lights .

  3. ” Wait, don’t do that! According to the movie “Medicine Man”, those might be the same bugs that hold the cure for cancer. ”

    I did not see the movie, didn’t it have Sean Connery in it . I read a lot about termites when I was educating myself three years ago during the hey day of the greenhouse gas craze . So many carbon capturing schemes . Plants absorb carbon during their lifetimes . When they die they release it, if they are burned, or they rot, or get eaten by termites .

    Besides controlling termites, they want subsidies to grow various grasses and other carbon capturing crops, char them which greatly slows down their rate of decomposition, and then bury them . These hair brained schemes are probably far less harmful and less expensive than wind and solar farms .

  4. At 20.00 local, I started my lawn mower, leaf blower, power washer, chain saw and hedge trimmers. I then started both cars and lit a bonfire; every light in the house was on. So too were both flat screen TVs.

    And I STILL didn’t burn as much petro as Al Gore.

  5. pino,


    At 20.00 local, I started my lawn mower, leaf blower, power washer, chain saw and hedge trimmers. I then started both cars and lit a bonfire; every light in the house was on. So too were both flat screen TVs.

    And I STILL didn’t burn as much petro as Al Gore. ”

    Just another Global Warming denier . Well now that Obama-care has taken care of the evil Capitalist pigs, you pagans are next .

Leave a Reply

