Obama Visits House Republican Retreat – Ruins Their Vacation

by Ben Hoffman

As promised in his State of the Union Address, President Obama met with House Republicans for a question and answer session. The Republicans used all their talking points and lies and Obama knocked them down, one by one. Even after a year of dealing with the skunks, Obama still has hope that everyone can work together in peace and harmony. What he doesn’t realize is that right-wingers have nothing to offer but fear and hatred, so they’re not going to try to work with Democrats on anything.

Anyway, here’s the video… (The audio gets better after a minute or two)

President Obama Full Q&A

Tags:

76 Comments to “Obama Visits House Republican Retreat – Ruins Their Vacation”

  1. I don’t think this was the “schooling” that the left thinks it is, but he definitely owned them. Obama called out those who were politicking and posturing for the cameras which I think he deserves credit for.

    Obama played his own politics here and dodged some bullets (ex: the Tom Price question), but to me 90% of the Republicans came off as lame, posturing salespeople looking to stay elected rather than serious legislators trying to fix what is broken.

    “… would you consider… embracing… in the name of little David Carter Jr. and his dad, (or insert downtrodden kid/family you met on the campaign trail here)…” PLEASE! I almost threw up.

    Note to Republicans: This “kissing babies” $hit was a thing of the past that DOES NOT HELP YOUR CAUSE. We’re in the age of Reality TV now – GET REAL, and ACT REAL. Call out the Democrats without all the political fluff you’re constantly putting around it so you can get back in the game.

    • [“… would you consider… embracing… in the name of little David Carter Jr. and his dad, (or insert downtrodden kid/family you met on the campaign trail here)…” PLEASE! I almost threw up.]

      But he sounded so sincere when he said that. 🙂

      As far as the Tom Price question, Republicans haven’t offered any ideas that will improve the system. I mean, if someone offered up the idea that eating more guacamole will make people healthier and therefore reduce health care costs, is that a useful contribution to the debate?

      One interesting note… Fox “news” saw what a disaster the Q&A session was for the Republicans and cut their broadcast of it short.

      • [Republicans haven’t offered any ideas that will improve the system.] I think that’s both a reach and a cop out. For one, you can’t think that Democrats get everything right 100% the first time, or even at all. With that, there must be enough credible economists, constitutionalists, and industry experts out there to form an alternative position worth hearing for the difference. Unless 100% right, by default the Republicans (as the opposing party) have to have something to offer. Either the Democrats aren’t seeking those out, they’re not receiving them, or both. The point of “shut out” vs. “rejected” should have been discussed in detail.

        Another thing I think the Republicans let slide was just who Obama considered to be the “credible, independent, experts” that he and the Democrats relied on for advice. He left this part vague in the debate which the Republicans should have pounced on. They should have drilled down on specifics instead of simply (and stupidly) using their time to campaign.

      • Yep, looks like Fox News chickened out on that one, especially when they broadcast the entire GOP response.

      • [I think that’s both a reach and a cop out. For one, you can’t think that Democrats get everything right 100% the first time, or even at all.]

        You sound like Alan, making stuff up. The current bill in the Senate is a piece of crap. But along with all the bad stuff, there have been some good proposals — especially in the House bill. They should push for the public option, prohibit discrimination against people with pre-existing conditions or canceling policies when people get sick. There should also be a limit of 10% of revenues used for administration. There shouldn’t be a mandate for people to buy insurance, though.

        Doing those things would reduce insurance costs.

        Now what have Republicans proposed that would reduce the cost of insurance without quality suffering?

      • [You sound like Alan, making stuff up.]

        What???? What exactly am I “making up” here? My comment is simple logic that unless someone has a 100% correct and absolute solution right out of the gate, there HAS to be (by default) a credible, opposing view. Obama kept stating that if the Republicans bring him a “credible, independent expert” then he’ll listen. The Republicans are saying that they have, or are trying to, but they’re being shut out.

        What have the Republicans brought forward? What do you mean by “any” when you say they haven’t brought any good ideas forward? Personally, I don’t know really what they’ve brought forward; I haven’t looked but you probably have.

        My point, though, is about “shut out” vs. “rejected” – if the Dems have rejected experts brought forth by the Republicans, I’d be interested in knowing who they are, and why they were rejected. If instead the Dems are simply shutting the Republicans out due to political revenge or them not falling in line, that’s another matter.

      • Ben said: [Now what have Republicans proposed that would reduce the cost of insurance without quality suffering?]

        I said: […if the Dems have rejected experts brought forth by the Republicans, I’d be interested in knowing who they are, and why they were rejected.]

        Not speaking for Ben, but I’m genuinely curious about this and am asking for some literature sources to be pointed in the right direction. In the stuff I’ve read it’s really all been theoretical around the ideology of a free market. Are there some more specific, detailed conservative sources I can review for my own interests that people could recommend? Thanks in advance. 🙂

      • [My comment is simple logic that unless someone has a 100% correct and absolute solution right out of the gate, there HAS to be (by default) a credible, opposing view.]

        Not necessarily. The Democrats proposed a mandate that everyone has to buy health insurance. I believe the Republicans are against that, but that doesn’t qualify as a good idea by the Republicans. It’s just a bad idea by the Democrats.

      • That’s just one disappointment I had with the Republicans in that Q&A. For the most part, they kept it at the level of rhetoric – hence my call for info.

        […it’s just a bad idea by the Democrats.] To my point exactly – are they rejecting or shutting out? What makes up the gap here between a bad idea and a good idea, the Republicans offering one or us waiting for the Democrats to come up with their own?

      • Ben said: [What were his lies? You have to give some examples, and by examples I mean direct quotes — not generalizations.]

        You can check out Judicial Watch, Media Watch, Fact Check.org, etc. just as easily as I can to see where politicians on both sides continually stretch the truth.

        My point is in regards to your rhetoric. You’re very quick to call, and seem to enjoy calling, the right “liars” yet “lying” ultimately comes down to a matter of both knowledge and intent. At best, you may only have half of that, and yet in spite of that you still come out and declare people as liars on the other side out of what appears to be only your own bias and contempt.

        First, let’s cut to the chase – are you saying here that neither Obama, Pelosi, Reid, or the rest of the Dems have EVER lied either on the campaign trail or in office, either directly or by omission?

        Second, as far as your comparing me to Alan (unfairly, I might add), have you yourself not been disingenuous at times in your own presentation of opinions as facts as well?

        DIRECT QUOTE: In your “Obama’s First Year as President” post you say that Obama has “saved or created 800,000 to 2.4 million jobs” (Emphasis added). You don’t say “allegedly”, “probably”, or even “hopefully” and yet the CBO, the source for your numbers considers them at best a loose estimate and hardly fact. You go even further in stating this as fact calling it perhaps Obama’s “greatest accomplishment so far” in office (Emphasis added again). “Accomplishment”?

        Yes, you have a source for these numbers (the CBO) which you criticize Alan for often not having, but that still doesn’t mean you have proof or that what you are stating is fact. To me, however, that doesn’t make you a liar simply because I don’t think your intentions here are to deceive any of us.

        My final point is this: the danger of wanting to automatically call someone who opposes your views a “liar and a buffoon” is that you risk shutting out good ideas that can have little to do with the character of the person presenting them and everything to do with solving the issue at hand.

        Joe Wilson’s outburst calling Obama a “liar” was over the fact that they were being shut out of the health care discussions while Obama was stating on live TV that they weren’t. In the Q&A, the Repubs were claiming to be shut out as well, and there’s at least some evidence of this in Pelosi and Reid’s actions to date. Including the opinions of the other half of Americans who Obama’s supposed to be representing is important to solving the current issues at hand, don’t you think?

        In my early comments of this post I’ve asked if their ideas are being rejected, or if they’re being shut out simply because they are thought to be, in your words, all “liars and buffoons”. If the Dems opinion is what appears to be yours, then we are sure to have nothing of what you on the left “lie” about wanting to have in the first place which is both nonpartisanship for one and progress for another.

      • [if someone offered up the idea that eating more guacamole will make people healthier and therefore reduce health care costs, is that a useful contribution to the debate?]
        You mean, like someone saying we should put more air in our tires to help stave off global warming? 😉

        I love gaucamole and think it’s a great idea. Taking it further, let’s change the system so that avacados are cheaper than a trip through the drive-thru at McDonald’s. (Just watched Food Inc., quite an eye-opener. Arbourist – one point AGAINST corporations and capitalism here!)

      • [My point is in regards to your rhetoric. You’re very quick to call, and seem to enjoy calling, the right “liars” yet “lying” ultimately comes down to a matter of both knowledge and intent.]

        That’s true. To lie, one must intentionally misstate a fact, and I believe that occurs quite often by people who want Obama to fail. I don’t “enjoy” calling them liars. I’d rather they didn’t lie.

        [you still come out and declare people as liars on the other side out of what appears to be only your own bias and contempt.]

        While I may be a bit bias and contemptuous, that doesn’t mean I’m wrong.

        [First, let’s cut to the chase – are you saying here that neither Obama, Pelosi, Reid, or the rest of the Dems have EVER lied either on the campaign trail or in office, either directly or by omission?]

        No, but the magnitude and the frequency of lies is far greater on the right.

        [Second, as far as your comparing me to Alan (unfairly, I might add),]

        Yes, that was unfair and I apologize.

        [have you yourself not been disingenuous at times in your own presentation of opinions as facts as well?]

        I don’t think so, but feel free to call me on it if I do it again. 🙂

        [You go even further in stating this as fact calling it perhaps Obama’s “greatest accomplishment so far” in office (Emphasis added again). “Accomplishment”?]

        That was my opinion.

        [My final point is this: the danger of wanting to automatically call someone who opposes your views a “liar and a buffoon”]

        If I have proof that they’re lying, I’m going to call them on it.

        [is that you risk shutting out good ideas that can have little to do with the character of the person presenting them and everything to do with solving the issue at hand.]

        I rarely call anyone names who posts on my blog. (Except for Steve. He’s a wacko.)

        [Joe Wilson’s outburst calling Obama a “liar” was over the fact that they were being shut out of the health care discussions while Obama was stating on live TV that they weren’t.]

        No, you’re misinformed. His comment was over illegal aliens receiving free benefits.

        [In the Q&A, the Repubs were claiming to be shut out as well, and there’s at least some evidence of this in Pelosi and Reid’s actions to date.]

        From everything I’ve seen, the only thing Republicans want to do is block any kind of reform. They’ve been lying about illegal aliens getting coverage, about “death panels,” costs, among other things, so how do you work with people who’s only goal is to obstruct? That said, the Senate Bill contains 160 GOP amendments, so they were hardly “shut out” of the debate.

        [ in your words, all “liars and buffoons”.]

        No, I didn’t say the were “all” liars and buffoons. Some Republican politicians are merely liars; others are merely buffoons. 🙂 But seriously, some are just simple-minded right-wing ideologues.

        [If the Dems opinion is what appears to be yours,]

        Actually I disagree with the Democrats on many issues, but I think their platform is a lot better for our country than that of the Republicans.

      • [Just watched Food Inc., quite an eye-opener.]

        Yep, it makes our selection of foods a moral issue. My wife buys free range chicken and beef, but it’s quite a bit more expensive than meat from factory farms, and someone on a low budget is more likely to get the cheaper meat. It’s up to the government to do something about the treatment of animals in factory farms.

      • Ben,

        I agree that the possible job creation is your opinion, but again, you seem to be stating those job saves/creation estimates as fact. Put another way, it’s like you’re putting a “Mission Accomplished” banner up over those numbers. 🙂

        Anyways, I appreciate your reply to my post, and also the slate.com article. Exactly what I was looking for – thanks.

      • [Put another way, it’s like you’re putting a “Mission Accomplished” banner up over those numbers.]

        The numbers come from the states. They have to report how they spend the money and the jobs created or saved. The bogus zip codes came from state workers entering bad data — not from anything Obama did. But many economists believe that had the stimulus not been enacted, we might have sunk into a depression. Of course, there’s no way to prove that one way or another.

      • [You sound like Alan, making stuff up.]

        Ben, in fairness, Vern doesn’t sound at all like Alan. Our Alan has a very unique voice.

    • Vern – on that kissing babies stuff – I could say the same thing whenever a pol – prez included – ‘personalizes’ policy stuff with a tender, touching personal story of some hapless American. I hate that.

      • Ya, that tactic has got to be in some old political textbook somewhere dating back to the early days of the Constitution. I wish they’d stop it, but I just shudder to think that there are still people out there who fall for it.

  2. I was really proud of the president when I saw him truly holding his own against the flailing attacks of the Congressional Republicans. It’s such a relief that he’s begun to call them out for distorting the facts and for their lack of civility.

    But I’m not at all surprised at how Fox “News” covered the event. I don’t even know why they even bother calling themselves a news organization anymore. It’s just laughable.

    • [I was really proud of the president when I saw him truly holding his own against the flailing attacks of the Congressional Republicans.]

      Holding his own? He made them look like the buffoons and liars they are! 🙂

      • Ben, you really gotta get off this “liars” kick and that somehow it’s so one-sided! (Or not, it’s your page!) Obama didn’t “lie” about unemployment, televising the healthcare debates, eliminate pork, etc.? He just what… meant something different? 😉

        I know it’s your own page, but come on! haha 🙂

      • [Ben, you really gotta get off this “liars” kick and that somehow it’s so one-sided! (Or not, it’s your page!) Obama didn’t “lie” about unemployment, televising the healthcare debates, eliminate pork, etc.? He just what… meant something different?]

        What were his lies? You have to give some examples, and by examples I mean direct quotes — not generalizations. I can give plenty of examples of Republicans lying. Almost every question posited by the Republicans in the debate contained a lie.

    • Fox still goes after important topics that other networks prefer to leave in the dark. Whether one tunes into them or not as their news source is their choice, but I’m glad they are there. Last I checked they’re still holding strong in the ratings, too, which says something.

      • Fox still goes after important topics topics that suit my ideological bent that other networks prefer to leave in the dark.

        Fixed that one for ya Vern.

        Last I checked they’re still holding strong in the ratings, too, which says something.

        Which says nothing for their accuracy in reporting, caliber of news or inherent bias. Being popular does not equate with being good.

      • I reject your “fix”, Arbourist. The fact is I watch a number of news sources, even your beloved CBC. Fox is just one of them, and I’ll say that they cover stories that the other networks are too “bent” to cover that ARE important.

        “Being popular doesn’t equate with being good” – we could certainly apply that to the last few elections, couldn’t we?

  3. […] “As promised in his State of the Union Address, President Obama met with House Republicans for a question and answer session. The Republicans used all their talking points and lies and Obama knocked them down, one by one. Even after a year of dealing with the skunks, Obama still has hope that everyone can work together in peace and harmony. What he doesn’t realize is that right-wingers have nothing to offer but fear and hatred, so they’re not going to try to work with Democrats on anything.”

    Obama wants everyone to work together? Bullshit! Obama wants everyone to agree with him. Period. That is ‘getting along’ as far as he’s concerned. Fear and hatred … you are so far out there I don’t even understand why these guys even reply. Like what kind of “fear and hatred” Ben? You say Republicans haven’t offered anything … and I’ll bet a month’s pay that you haven’t even stopped to research it.

  4. Mr. Hoffman,


    [You sound like Alan, making stuff up.] ”

    I stayed out of this discussion because I could not bring myself to watch another Obullshizter liefest. I have yet to see anyone put a truthometer on what the President said. Now I hear my name used in an unflattering way. Whenever you have accused me of making things up, you seem to lack the will to offer any proof. If you do catch me in an honest mistake, I will concede it, but I do not just make things up out of thin air.

    It’s not like I’m President and I have to do that.

    • [I do not just make things up out of thin air.]

      So where does it come from? Hallucinations? 🙂

      To be fair, sometimes you state things as facts that other people make up.

      I noticed that whenever I say you make something up, you don’t respond. Feel free to prove me wrong.

  5. V.R Kaine said: I reject your “fix”, Arbourist. The fact is I watch a number of news sources, even your beloved CBC. Fox is just one of them, and I’ll say that they cover stories that the other networks are too “bent” to cover that ARE important.

    Media triangulation is so very important when attempting to get a reasonable view of events. It is encouraging that you engage in such activity.

    “Being popular doesn’t equate with being good” – we could certainly apply that to the last few elections, couldn’t we?

    Agreed.

  6. I have been in this country since 1985. I have never seen any other US presidents to hold such public debate with the opposition party like this. Do any of you recall any?

    • Hi Elias,

      No, I haven’t. Although I had hoped for way more from the Republicans in such a unique opportunity, I think it showed guts on behalf of the President. I, for one, hope there are more of these in the future and I hope the Republicans smarten up.

      Where are you from?

    • [Do any of you recall any?]

      No, I believe it’s a first since I’ve been voting. It should be mandatory for all presidents! Perhaps we need a Constitutional amendment requiring televised presidential question and answer sessions with Congress.

      • I concur with it being mandatory. It will be interesting to see whether the Republicans accept a televised Q&A again. I think they have to, and I hope this will serve as a lesson to them so that they step up their game.

    • First time I’ve ever seen anything like it Elias. Sometimes in congressional committee hearings on CSPAN, you get a taste of it, but this was pretty special. And I loved seeing it.

  7. Mr. Hoffman,

    ” I noticed that whenever I say you make something up, you don’t respond. Feel free to prove me wrong. ”

    That should be an interesting exercise. You offer no proof that I make stuff up, yet I’m supposed to prove you wrong. A ridiculous request, but I’m sure I will be up to it.

    It goes back to you liberals having no facts on your side and thus not being able to disprove my fact filled brilliance. 🙂

  8. V.R Kaine said: I reject your “fix”, Arbourist. The fact is I watch a number of news sources, even your beloved CBC. Fox is just one of them, and I’ll say that they cover stories that the other networks are too “bent” to cover that ARE important.

    Mr. Kaine, what type of stories do you like to get from a ‘news source’ like fox?

    The amount of skepticism necessary to digest fox news must be tiring.

    • It’s no more tiring than hearing people spout that any other network is better.

      That clip above looks like pure “gotcha” to me. They would have had those chyrons prepared before the show and just hit “play”. The guest made an instant correction, I wouldn’t expect a millisecond correction to the chyron simply ASSUMING what the guy said was actually true. That would have had to come from the control room. I also don’t buy the assertion that just because someone is an “advisor”, that they’re not in fact “working” for someone. That’s just spin – the same way MSNBC’s coverage of the Phoneix rally, for example, was spin, too. Showing a guy with an assault rifle, talking of racism, then not showing or saying that the guy wearing the assault rifle was actually black? If that’s not “spin”, I don’t know what is, and show me one network that doesn’t do it just as much as the others do.

      Sure, there’s stuff that Fox covers that I don’t care for or buy into, but so what? I don’t have this pompous ego that says any of these networks somehow have to cater to my every intellectual whim. Besides, if I was any better at it than they are, I should simply have a network of my own.

      I go to reporters for news, I go to commentators for comments. The two are distinctly different. Why you guys (right + left) so staunchly defend your respective commentators as prophets, or your networks as “The Almighty”, is ridiculous.

      That people make such a big deal about Fox is also ridiculous – it’s ONE Network!!!!!!!!!!! Get over it, people! I think Alex Jones and David Icke are nutbars, but you don’t see me freaking out about them and writing blog posts every two minutes.

      But let’s cut to the chase here: all people are really doing when they’re attacking someone’s network of choice is making a weak, underhanded attempt to attack that person’s character. I don’t think that’s what you were trying to do here with me (instead, just making a general comment about a network you don’t like), but it’s still a discussion I prefer not to get involved in for that very reason.

      I find good coverage, articles, opinions, etc. by people who are opposite of my views on many occasions, and I readily, easily, and openly acknowledge that I think they are right – even when I may disagree with them 99% of the rest of the time (Glenn Greenwald is one example). It has nothing to do with what network I like or don’t like, or what party I vote for. I think it has to do with being SANE, so why are people freaking out about ONE NETOWRK, and making blanket judgments about it?

      • V.R. Kaine said: It’s no more tiring than hearing people spout that any other network is better.

        I did not make that claim. The important fact is the every news network is bias, and you have proven you are well aware of that.

        […] That’s just spin – the same way MSNBC’s coverage of the Phoneix rally, for example, was spin,[…]

        I do like engaging with you over topics, but what the assertion was that Fox had a pre-planned idea of where the interview was going. The assumed a certain set of facts and planned their segments around those assumptions and continued along that line, whether it was a technical issue or ideological commitment to certain world view.

        Discussing MSNBC does not change what FOX did and is not relevant.

        Why you guys (right + left) so staunchly defend your respective commentators as prophets, or your networks as “The Almighty”, is ridiculous.

        Agreed.

        But let’s cut to the chase here: all people are really doing when they’re attacking someone’s network of choice is making a weak, underhanded attempt to attack that person’s character.

        That was not my intent. I do not attack people, but rather their arguments. I will eviscerate faulty argumentation and mendacious reasoning. For the record, I did only ask what sort of stories you get from Fox and comment on since they do have a strong bias it must take a serious commitment to compensate for said bias.

        so why are people freaking out about ONE NETOWRK, and making blanket judgments about it?

        I would propose that because so many people take what their news network says as ‘gospel’ they often get a warped view of the world.

        Taking the time to look at other sources, and read dissenting information is a large part of critical thinking. It is the critical examination of issues and events, that sadly, many people do not seem to have the time to do.

      • [That was not my intent. I do not attack people, but rather their arguments. I will eviscerate faulty argumentation and mendacious reasoning. For the record, I did only ask what sort of stories you get from Fox and comment on since they do have a strong bias it must take a serious commitment to compensate for said bias.]

        Yep, got that! You’ll note that I acknowledged that in my original reply to you, specifically that I figured you were making a general statement re: FOX News re: using it as an attack on me personally. No harm done. 🙂

      • Stipulating most of what you’ve said here Vern, I think a good part of the reaction to FOX is because when they came on the air with a fully visible agenda to be anti-liberal, pro-conservative, they changed the face of TV news.

        While they and other conservatives often saw the networks as biased, none of them (until MSNBC jumped in with KO) had a political agenda that I was able to observe.

        And let’s not forget – when the Iraq war was being ramped up, MSNBC’s star was Phil Donahue. He was fired the very first time he expressed an anti-war sentiment. KO came on the air once even GE had given up on Bush.

        FOX broke through the standards that had been in place since TV news began in the 50’s.

      • While they and other conservatives often saw the networks as biased, none of them (until MSNBC jumped in with KO) had a political agenda that I was able to observe.

        But the papers have been picking their favorite candidates for years and I don’t recall them being so vilified? I’d like to see someone come out and actually say that FNC (or any of them) is inaccurate ___% of the time, and then show proof. Is there any good research on this? I’ve heard Pew quoted a few times…

      • Vern – I’ve been thinking about this FOX business today (spent a lot of time in the car). And what they brought was not at all the same as newspapers endorsing or whatever on thier editorial pages. That’s a tradition as old as the Republic. And people expected it.

        What FOX did changed the rules. Hell, they tossed the rules out and wrote their own. Taking political sides had never been done on TV before. Never. AT least not in this country.

        And as for accuracy – there’s stuff out there. I’m not sure where to go – the media watchdog sites, places like ProPulbica maybe. Let’s look around and see what we find!

      • Moe, if they changed the rules then overall I’d say I’m glad that they did. Again, this is not agreeing with them 100% of the time (I do think they fearmonger a lot in their commentary), and I’ll also say that I wouldn’t say this if they weren’t on cable. I wouldn’t want to see their content and format on every mainstream network, and I like that it runs contrary to a lot of what the mainstream does.

        Just watch – now that it’s becoming fashionable again to be critical of the government, we’ll see guys like O’Reilly chumming up to Obama a little more and coming more to his defense. I think we’ve already seen a bit of it already.

    • As for news stories from FOX, I like that O’Reilly exposes judges who let pedo’s off easy, I like that FOX went heavily into the ACORN scandal when no one else was, and I like when they covered the anti-terrorism rally recently by Muslims after the Christmas attempt. I find their security consultants are usually good and informative as well.

      I also have a supercrush on Megyn Kelly, as well (how can one not!?) 🙂

      • Ah, yes… Megyn Kelly: blond #17. 🙂

        [I like that FOX went heavily into the ACORN scandal when no one else was]

        Actually Fox helped create the scandal, which turned out to be nothing.

      • Very sexist comment, there, Ben! Ms. Kelly very much stands out on her own as a superior intellectual; a well-educated and unique voice on that network. She’s my “Anti-Palin”. haha

      • [Actually Fox helped create the scandal, which turned out to be nothing.]
        I don’t think so. It’s more like the rest of the networks refused to look deep enough to see one, choosing political correctness and ignorant bliss over responsibility.

        Besides, which “scandal” are you referring to specifically? Rathke stealing and the board covering it up? The voter fraud? Or just the recent “come in and let us help you set up an underage brothel” one?

  9. Actually they probably enjoyed the comic relief he brought.

  10. Arbourist,

    It is amazing to me how you guys deceive while you are accusing Foxnews of deception. When Gretchen Carlson says that Obama rehired the guy, how is she wrong ? Just because the administration now calls him ” an outside consultant “. Didn’t they just give him another hat and and change the way they cut his paycheck ?

    Why do you and Obama constantly plat word games ? Please clear this up ?

    • Right. We should also take a look also at where people who get “canned” in Washington usually go. Didn’t Van Jones get to come back as a “consultant” somewhere? (not that I really care where he is, it’s more about the “spin”).

      • Not just the ‘canned’ ones. The whole place is one huge merry-go-round ride. They jump off one horse and get on another one, and they go around in the same damn circle forever. And they can’t see the other side of the circle so they actually think they’re moving is some sort of direction. From the congress to the press to someone’s ‘staff’ to the lobby trade or the other way around.

      • You said it, Moe. No wonder Ben wants to run for Governor! (couldn’t resist, Ben!)

    • It is amazing to me how you guys deceive while you are accusing Foxnews of deception.

      It is their specialty.

      object width=”560″ height=”340″>

  11. Ms. Holland,

    ” Not just the ‘canned’ ones. The whole place is one huge merry-go-round ride. They jump off one horse and get on another one, and they go around in the same damn circle forever. And they can’t see the other side of the circle so they actually think they’re moving is some sort of direction. From the congress to the press to someone’s ’staff’ to the lobby trade or the other way around. ”

    Thank you for that small slice of candor. Now I realize that Republicans, when they are in power play this game also. My point is that Candidate Obama emphasized that this kind of stuff would not go on when he was in charge.

    The country voted out the Republicans for this kind of stuff. It seems to me that nothing has changed.

    • The country voted out the Republicans for screwing up. For wrecking the economy and for carrying on two endless wars.

      And yeah, Obama said he wanted to change the culture in Washington. So has every single candidate for president in modern times. But Obama put it on his posters?

  12. Ms. Holland,

    ” The country voted out the Republicans for screwing up. For wrecking the economy and for carrying on two endless wars. ”

    You know of course, I will challenge everything you say ? The Democrats wrecked the economy with the GSEs causing the housing mess, and wrecked it again by causing high energy prices. The wars were necessary to prevent another 911. At least Republicans won’t try to make Obama lose the two wars, just to score brownie points with the hippies.

    ” And yeah, Obama said he wanted to change the culture in Washington. So has every single candidate for president in modern times. But Obama put it on his posters? ”

    No, no, no, I refuse to let you get away with this!!!!

    These were not just slogans on posters. The man said he would run his administration by certain rules.

    How in the hell can you continue to believe anything this guy says ? So any words he says, any promises are mere campaign slogans.

    Ok, Ok, I am sorry for the rough language. Just tell me, what he says that I can count on ? What words does he really mean ?

  13. [just to score brownie points with the hippies.]

    You are aware Alan that there aren’t any hippies anymore? Except for the odd ones we all see here and there caught in some kind of time warp.

    Other than that, I won’t try to engage. It’s pointless. You are just so enraged by this president that nothing I can say will change that.

    • It is pointless, Moe. The Republican party is like a religion to right-wingers and it’s like trying to debate the existence of God; it’s pointless. And the Democrats are too wimpy to get anything done. So where does that leave our country? Screwed. That’s where.

  14. Ms. Holland,

    ” You are aware Alan that there aren’t any hippies anymore? ”

    Literary license. The hard left is just as anti war as the hippies of the 1960s. They are just as willing to see us lose a war. I am just wondering when they will turn on Obama, as the real hippies did to LBJ.

    ” You are just so enraged by this president that nothing I can say will change that. ”

    You are partially right. I am angry that you and the press do not call him on his blatant lies. These are not the little spins all politicians resort to.

    But just to show you that I am not purely partisan, I applaud Obama’s recent successes in Afghanistan. I criticize that he did not do the surge sooner and with even more troops, but for a change he actually has some positive results on something.

    I am also happy on his recent comments supporting nuclear energy. That must hurt him with you renewable energy or nothing hardliners. I just do not care for him using the climate change scam to justify it.

    Mr. Hoffman,

    ” And the Democrats are too wimpy to get anything done. So where does that leave our country? Screwed. ”

    I don’t know how egg headed you two are, but I am in the midst of reading ‘War and Peace’. The Russian general who defeated Napoleon, Kutuzov had a Maxim. ” When in doubt, do nothing.” ” The strongest of all warriors are these two: Time and Patience. ”

    Since everything that Barry, Harry, and Nancy want to do is expensive and has doubtful benefits to anyone but Democrat lackeys, the country has been fortunate in the wimpyness of your guys.

    By being patient and waiting for the proper time, Republicans have more strength than was imagined a year ago, in battling Obama’s Grande Armée that is occupying Washington DC.

    • [I am in the midst of reading ‘War and Peace’.]

      You do know that Tolstoy was a liberal pacifist, don’t you? He was a huge inspiration for Gandhi. (Hope that didn’t ruin the book for you. 🙂 )

      [By being patient and waiting for the proper time, Republicans have more strength than was imagined a year ago]

      So what ideas do Republicans have that would be good for America?

  15. Mr. Hoffman,

    ” You do know that Tolstoy was a liberal pacifist, don’t you? ”

    Don’t care, love war stories. I almost wish I didn’t start it because of the length. I kept running in to literary references from it that I finally decided to bite the bullet and try to get through it.

    ” So what ideas do Republicans have that would be good for America? ”

    Stop entitlement growth. Stop government growth. Stop the demonization of free enterprise. Basically do the opposite of what’s been done in New York, New Jersey, and California. You know the 3 States that are even closer to insolvency than the Federal Government.

    It should be interesting in Jersey as the new governor starts cutting the State budget. Arnold really blew his chance in California years ago.

    I actually expect things to improve in the country by the midterms. It’s a question of degree. Things may not be as bad for you guys as they look now. Obama’s debt though won’t go away.

    • [Stop entitlement growth. Stop government growth. Stop the demonization of free enterprise.]

      That’s not the Republican platform.

      There’s an easy way to cut government, though: abolish the Senate. They’re totally worthless and they’re not representative of the people. All good ideas come from the House, which IS representative.

  16. Mr. Hoffman,

    ” There’s an easy way to cut government, though: abolish the Senate. They’re totally worthless and they’re not representative of the people. All good ideas come from the House, which IS representative. ”

    Me thinks you are only saying that because Obama-care was held up in the Senate. We will see how you feel the next time a GOP President’s agenda dies in the Senate.

    But are you saying that shrinking the government is good ?

    Actually New Jersey is getting interesting. Gov. Christie is trying to cut spending and right on cue the opposition trots out a blind kid victim.

    So anyway do we just keep raising taxes to cover SS and Medicare ?

  17. Mr. Hoffman, Ms. Holland,

    ” So anyway do we just keep raising taxes to cover SS and Medicare ?]

    What do you mean “keep” raising taxes. We’ve had nothing but tax cuts for the past 10 years. ”

    You are mistaken. Let’s you two and me get down to details. Specifics if you will. The taxes I pay to support the Federal entitlement programs of SS and Medicare added up to 7 times the net Federal income tax which I paid directly to the US Treasury in 09. Those taxes did not go down,,, did they ? And guess what ? SS and Medicare are still going broke!!!!!!

    ” Why do people believe their taxes have gone up? In what universe? Even Obama lowered taxes in the stimulus. Jeeez. ”

    The utter contempt that you and President Obama have for the taxpayer is breathtaking. The “one” is letting the Bush tax cuts expire, tax increase. Also with his Supersize spending we all know taxes are going up. But this spineless wonder YOU two put in the White House is talking a Commission to tell him what to do about taxes. The man ducks responsibility constantly.

    Getting back to ENTITLEMENTS. Your lords and masters won’t tell you that this is what will really bankrupt us. President George W, Bush thanklessly proposed reforms early in his first term, but guess what opposition party blocked those reforms and demonized Bush for it ?

    Now does Barak, the spineless, tackle this issue ? Hell no. Instead of fixing bankrupt SS and Medicare, he wants to add another Entitlement called Obama-Care. Then he lies and says it will contain costs.

    Hey, but don’t you worry, Republicans will be back in charge by the time the SS checks start bouncing . You can then blame them .

    In the words of a famous woman, ” Jeeez. “

    • [Hey, but don’t you worry, Republicans will be back in charge by the time the SS checks start bouncing . You can then blame them .]

      When the checks start bouncing? Our country is over 12 trillion dollars in debt! Why do you act like we’re not presently in the midst of a crisis? Our country is bankrupt and at the mercy of countries like China to loan us money!

  18. Mr. Hoffman,

    ” Our country is bankrupt and at the mercy of countries like China to loan us money! ”

    Damn Bush with his tax cuts and wars for oil . 🙂

    Thank God for a real deficit hawk like Obama .

    • I realize you’re just spouting talking points, but now is not the time for fiscal conservativeness. Unemployment is almost 10%. Cutting government now will result in even higher unemployment. The time to cut government and balance the budget is when the economy is healthy, as the government did in the late 90s.

  19. Mr. Hoffman,

    I partially agree, but the amount of the deficit spending is troubling. The fact that a lot of the stimulus was intentionally delayed for this year, when it politically would help Democratic incumbents the most, instead of last year when the economy needed it a lot more.

    Also broad tax cuts help those producing wealth and jobs. What the stimulus became was a slush fund for Obama, Reid , and Pelosi to help their friends, and bail out states like California, New York, and Jersey, who were overly generous in pensions and benfits to the public sector unions.

    Call them talking points all you want to downgrade them so you do not have to deal with the truth.

    If you got a way to destroy my so called talking points, I’m all eyes.

  20. Mr. Hoffman,

    ” Alan, the stimulus bill was a five year plan. ”

    I will take your word on that. So why is Obama pushing a second stimuli bill? Pardon me JOBS bill. If we have 5 years before we know whether it worked, it seems premature to be pushing more money that we do not have, out the door.

Leave a Reply

