Dow Hit’s 10,000! Obama’s Economic Policies Are a Complete Failure! I’m So Confused!

by Ben Hoffman

The Dow crossed 10,000 today for the first time in a year and stayed there. But right-wingers have been claiming that Obama’s economic policies have been a complete failure. Those seem to contradict each other.

The stock market has been rallying since March, which is generally considered to be a six month leading indicator. So we should be pulling out of the recession any day now… Maybe next week.

39 Comments to “Dow Hit’s 10,000! Obama’s Economic Policies Are a Complete Failure! I’m So Confused!”

  1. Why is Wall St. important now? I thought it was evil?

  2. And surprise, surprise. The DOW finishes above 10,000 for the first time in 53 weeks, and the Nikkei finishes up 212 points.

  3. Mr. Hoffman,

    You do not see your own contradictions. If the average Joe owns stock in or out of his 401k, then he IS an evil capitalist. He SHOULD be rooting for the big corporations to RAKE in the profits because they work for him. What don’t you get?

    When your Democrats go after evil wall st. they hurt the average Joe investor. What don’t you get?

  4. So we should be pulling out of the recession any day now… Maybe next week.

    We’ve been out of the recession for near 4-5 months now.

    And big corporations raking in the profits by using workers from China isn’t helping our economy any

    Of course it does. When you realize that labor is a commodity, then you’ll realize that by obtaining the lowest cost labor you will be freeing the other forms of labor for better higher value purposes.

    • [When you realize that labor is a commodity]

      No, you’re thinking like a corporatist. People aren’t a commodity. Our country is supposed to be for, of, and by the PEOPLE — not corporations.

  5. People aren’t a commodity.

    Agreed. But their labor is.

    Our country is supposed to be for, of, and by the PEOPLE

    Again, I agree. See, you’re one of the good guys. Welcome to our side 😉

  6. Mr. Hoffman,

    Thank you for arguing details. It is hard to find a liberal who can do that. But again, you argue generalizations. The people running wall st. are not better or worse than anyone else. They are also not all exporting jobs to China.

    You attack all wall st. businesses, but I do not defend all of them. I can think of one named GE that I would love to see you and your bolshevik buddies ruin. That is only because they own MSNBC.

    I can also think of an evil billionaire currency trader named George Soros, whose currency manipulations hurt plenty of poor people around the world. Wait, you won’t do that. He is on your side.

    • You want some specifics? You’re a loser. You make up stuff to complain about. How’s that for being specific? 🙂

    • Alan;
      Reading the exchange between you and Ol’ Ben, I knew eventually you’d get him to expose his genuine liberal predictable agrument…name calling. Don’t you just love these left-wingers, always whining about the government not giving them enough, and bitching because some folks are more successful than others.

      • Steve,

        I have challenged our host to prove his allegations besmirching my character, in that I just made up things. He also called me a loser.

        It sounds as if I am about to get banned even though I have turned the other cheek and have not called him anything other than Mr. Hoffman.

      • [Don’t you just love these left-wingers, always whining about the government not giving them enough, and bitching because some folks are more successful than others.]

        You’re in the same category. I’ve never said that the government was not giving me enough or complained that some people are more successful than others. You right-wingers just make crap up to complain about. Get a life.

      • [It sounds as if I am about to get banned even though I have turned the other cheek and have not called him anything other than Mr. Hoffman.]

        No, the only people I ban are spammers. You’re always welcome to post here.

  7. Name one bill Republicans have passed that was for the good of the middle class.

    Dubya signed the Jobs and Growth Tax Relief Reconciliation Act on May 27, 2003.

    • I knew you were going to say tax cuts — the tax cuts that benefited the rich the most. They also resulted in huge deficits and the doubling of the national debt, which contributed to the collapse of our economy. Yeah, that was a great benefit to the middle class.

      • the tax cuts that benefited the rich

        the unemployment rate peaked in June 2003 at 6.3 percent, began dropping in July, and has held steady at 5.6 percent—lower than the average unemployment rate in the 1970s, 1980s, and 1990s—for all but one month of 2004.

        They also resulted in huge deficits and the doubling of the national debt,

        Total federal revenues grew by about $625 billion, or 35 percent, between fiscal
        year 2003 and fiscal year 2006. CBO’s analysis of that increase in revenues since 2003 is necessarily preliminary because relevant data are not yet fully available. CBO examined the available data using the commonly employed method of analyzing the sources of revenue growth as a percentage of GDP. Had revenues
        grown at the same rate as the overall economy between 2003 and 2006, federal receipts would have increased by only $373 billion. The other $252 billion of the
        actual increase in revenues represents growth in excess of GDP growth.

      • [Total federal revenues grew by about $625 billion, or 35 percent, between fiscal
        year 2003 and fiscal year 2006.]

        There no evidence that was due to the tax cuts. What preceded that? We had the dot-com bust and the 9/11 attack, and during that time we had the housing bubble.

  8. Mr. Hoffman,

    This is a test to see if you are honest or just another liberal who cannot debate specifics.

    You said, “You want some specifics? You’re a loser. You make up stuff to complain about. How’s that for being specific? :)”

    On another board you said that it was conservatives who retreat to name calling when they cannot argue facts. You called me a loser. What did I call you? But hey,I have a thick skin.

    Now list what stuff I made up and prove it is wrong.

    • Here you go…

      [You attack all wall st. businesses, ]
      I never attacked “all” wall street businesses. There are some that are bad for our country, such as Goldman-Sachs, but you take a statement like that and claim it implies “all” Wall St. businesses.

      [I can think of one named GE that I would love to see you and your bolshevik buddies ruin. That is only because they own MSNBC.]
      While I do watch MSNBC occasionally, that doesn’t say anything about how I feel about GE.

      [I can also think of an evil billionaire currency trader named George Soros, whose currency manipulations hurt plenty of poor people around the world. Wait, you won’t do that. He is on your side.]
      I really don’t know much about George Soros, other than the fact that he is a favorite whipping boy of the right-wing.

      With all the problems in the world today, you right-wingers still have to fabricate problems. That says a lot about right-wingers and their integrity.

      Now, if you want to debate real issues, that would be great. 🙂

  9. Mr. Hoffman,

    I believe that saying “Other than that, it (the Dow rallying) just means that the big corporations are raking in the profits again.” does imply all of them.

    “While I do watch MSNBC occasionally, that doesn’t say anything about how I feel about GE.” Well how do you feel about GE?

    About Mr. Soros, there is so much, that I do not want to bury you with information. I will say that in the 90s, if you care to google it, he was not very well liked in Britain, Malaysia, and Thailand.

    Soros would be just the kind of wall streeter you hate, except that he finances your side.

    • I left out one fact about Mr. Soros. After getting rich screwing so many people by attacking their currencies, he got his fingers badly burned in Russia in the late 90s. After losing $2 billion dollars, he suddenly became an anti capitalist. After 2000 he really became the Progressive’s Sugar Daddy.

      Wait I’m sorry, what were the real issues you wanted to debate? Oh yea, Goldman Sachs. They are doing very well, under your guy Barak.

      • [Wait I’m sorry, what were the real issues you wanted to debate? Oh yea, Goldman Sachs. They are doing very well, under your guy Barak.]

        I think we agree in on that topic. Goldman Sachs was largely responsible for the housing bubble, the dot-com bubble, and the bubble that resulted in the Great Depression. Goldman Sachs is one of those financial giants that were deemed “too big to fail,” and as part of the TARP program, they were allowed to get even bigger!

  10. [Well how do you feel about GE?]

    GE is a huge conglomerate responsible for many environmental disasters, defrauding the government, and other illegal activities. That’s how I “feel” about them.

    As far as Soros, if he broke any laws, he should be prosecuted. Otherwise, who gives a flying f*ck.

    [edit]
    GE should be broken up along with the other media conglomerate giants.

    • Mr. Hoffman,

      I appreciate your honesty on GE.

      “As far as Soros, if he broke any laws, he should be prosecuted.”

      He was prosecuted by the French for insider trading.

      “Otherwise, who gives a flying f*ck.”

      You should care. He is an old man. When he finally passes, a lot of the money ie. power will also pass from your side.

  11. Mr. Hoffman,

    I do not blame wall st. or even Goldman Sachs for the financial melt down. Certainly they are not with out blame, but the whole housing bubble began in government.

    Now do you want to continue with that issue or perhaps you would care to discuss Obama care? Or do you have some other topic that I can help you with?

    • [Or do you have some other topic that I can help you with?]

      Sure, you could rake the leaves at my house. 🙂

      • I would be happy to but, I am in the east and I have not even gotten my rake out yet. I do things the old fashioned way. I don’t believe in leaf blowers, bad for the environment. 🙂 🙂 .

        Actually we had our first snow on Oct. 15. 4 to 6 weeks early. Could not even find my snow shovel. I did fire up my coal stove. I’ve put so much CO2 in to the atmosphere that they are calling for a warm up next week. So much for Al Capone Gore and global warming.

      • [I don’t believe in leaf blowers, bad for the environment.]

        I use an electric leaf blower. It’s much faster than raking and easier on the back.

        [Actually we had our first snow on Oct. 15. 4 to 6 weeks early.]

        I grew up in the N.E. — hot and humid in the summer and bitter cold in the winter. Our weather is pretty mild here in Denver in comparison. But we had snow a couple weeks ago here, too.

  12. Mr. Hoffman,

    Do you believe in man made global warming?

    • I believe that man is contributing to global warming by polluting the air. I do value science.

      • Mr. Hoffman,

        Can you give me evidence that the earth is continuing to warm? Don’t you think that man made pollution can cool the earth by blocking the sun’s rays?

      • I could give you evidence but you could just as easily do the research yourself. And while it’s true that if you put enough soot in the air, it could block the sun’s rays, the problem is greenhouse gases — not soot.

  13. Unemployment still sucks.

  14. Don’t you think that man made pollution can cool the earth by blocking the sun’s rays?

    Silly. Doncha know that Global COOLING is a symmptom of Global Warming?

    Frackin’ liberals. If the place is warming their right. If the place is cooling their right. Unbelievable.

  15. Mr. Hoffman,

    Crap and tax will devastate the US economy. We have already gotten some smoke stack industries in the US that relocated from Global warming idiot Europe. As soon as we are Gored in the US, heavy industry will flee to other countries.

    And you folks cannot show any evidence that cutting back on CO2 will save the planet at all. I can show you evidence that in the past the earth warmed up and cooled down long before Al Gore stopped farming tobacco and figured out how to get rich buying and selling phony Carbon credits.

Leave a Reply

